top of page
Hegde Porsche sideways.jpg


The Shannons Adelaide Rally includes competitive and non-competitive touring categories to suit drivers and vehicles of all levels. Participating vehicles range from purpose-built racing machines to stock standard cars, and they compete or participate in a number of different ways. All categories are speed limited. Previous competitors in outright competition will fit into the trophy Category in 2022



Competition Category will not be available until the Motorsport Australia Tarmac Rally Review Panel hands down their report in late September

Challenge GTR.jpg


In 2022 all timed vehicles will fit into the Trophy Category. The Trophy category is competitive, with trophies awarded to the top three finishers.outright and in several sub categories which relate to the types of activities undertaken at the event.

Trophy entrants have a speed limit of 130kmh, which is monitored by a Rallysafe device, with time penalties for breaches of this limit.

Given that the Shannons Adelaide Rally roads are the tightest and most technical in the country, average speeds of cars are generally very low. Cars which normally compete in Competition Outright Category are eligible for entry into Trophy Category. All cars must have a type 3 roll cage and crews must have national rally licences. Contact us to upgrade your licence from a Speed licence to a National Rally Licence.


Technical freedoms exist in this class to allow entrants with highly modified street cars and hillclimb cars to enter, which may otherwise not meet regulations for the main competition. Cost is $3395

Spirit Ferrari.jpg


Spirit Tour Category is on pause until ethe Motorsport Australia Tarmac Rally review panel issue their report in late September.

Main Tour Alfa.jpg

Main Tour

The Main Tour category is all about the freedom of closed-road touring. Nowhere in Australia is there a tour with such intense serpentine roads in such close proximity to the event base and one with such a festive feel.

Participants run ahead of the Adelaide Rally competitors in packets, each with a tour leader who sets a swift and enjoyable pace on narrow, twisting roads. Tour vehicles are required to observe posted speed limits or 80kmh, whichever is higher on the applicable section of road. This allows for spirited driving on the tight and technical roads chosen for the Rally course. Cost is $2365

Prima MGTC.jpg

Prima Tour

The Shannons Prima Tour is a one-day event that is integrated into Day 1 of the Shannons Adelaide Rally. It is open to modern and classic cars.


Prima Tour is a leisurely drive through some of the state's most picturesque driving roads, with a shot of adrenaline before lunch at Deviation Road Cellar Door by way of 3 closed road activities.

Participants must observe posted speed limits, which allows for a challenging and enjoyable experience, using both sides of the road on three serpentine closed road stages up to 20km in length.

New stages added for 2022. Cost is $895

bottom of page